Loren Dykes – Centurian.

I think I’ve mentioned this before on the podcast, but I’m a relatively new convert to Women’s football. I started coaching a girls team about 10 years ago as a favour to a friend who through injury and illness couldn’t continue. From then my interest in women’s football grew and grew and since attending some women’s games both here in the states and back at home in Wales, I’ve loved watching it and being involved in it. One thing which struck me instantly about coaching a girls team, and being a guy was the girls desire to prove themselves.

Whenever we had a game at the end of a session and I played, I needed no reminders not to hang on to the ball too long because I knew I’d get stamped on and kicked and all manner of other punishments. If I passed the ball off quickly, I’d then get barracked by the girls with taunts of “afraid of being kicked by a little girl are you”….but with more swear words and insults than I care to include on this blog. I loved it. I loved the girls attitude and desire and passion for the game. The chip on the shoulder attitude drew me in every time we played and I loved the girls for that.

The thing is, that whilst the chip on the shoulder attitude was impressive and endearing, it was unnecessary. They didn’t need to prove anything to me. I could see within 5 minutes of a warm up in our first session how talented a group of players I had on my hands. Looking back, it’s clear they felt that the needed to prove things to men in football though, and there wasn’t a particular path for them to easily follow once they’d graduated from our under 17’s age group either. I think it’s fair to say they didn’t have the sort of accessible role models many young female football players do now too. They needed their own drive. This sort of attitude though is what pushes people on, and from all the players we’ve spoken to on the podcast, that will and drive is something that has struck me every time. 

In some people it’s obvious. I could tell Jess Fishlock had a steely determination in her eyes, and through her desire to see her commitment through to us by the 3 times during her day she called us back to finish our interview. Tash Harding made me feel at ease and on edge all at once with her witty engaging personality, but I knew I had to know my stuff after one piece of slack research ahead of our interview left me feeling daft when she could so quickly and clearly recall everything. That’s not a criticism, but something which impressed me just as much as her pace and guile on the pitch. 

All of this, brings me to the reason for writing this. Loren Dykes. She is an understated hero of our brilliant women’s team. From the outside looking in, she’s perhaps not the player some fans would rush to have the name of the back of their shirt, but I have no doubt she will be one of the first names on Jayne Ludlow’s team sheet, and Jarmo Matikaine’s before that. She is hard working, reads the game very well, and has a great turn of pace which is a great asset for the winger turned fullback. I remember her performance in the epic 0-0 draw against England. From winger, to fullback to center back. I felt like she was everywhere in that number 2 shirt. Whilst Laura O’Sullivan got a lot of the credit that night for her performance, and rightly so, Dykes was someone who was a rock alongside her defensive partners. As she so often is. 

Dykes started playing for Llanelli Reds before moving to Cardiff City, and now Bristol City. She has played in Europe, and she has played in FA Cup finals. She’s come close to winning the Women’s Super League/Women’s Championship on two occasions. She represented different age groups in Welsh football and drew such a good impression she made her full international debut aged just 19, in a 2-1 defeat against the Netherlands. She’s scored three goals for Wales, and tonight will have her 100th cap. What a set of achievements that is, and soon she will hopefully be able to add “helped Wales Women qualify for their first ever tournament” to that list. 

Every time I watch the women play, train or see an interview, she seems to be the focal point. The glue which holds the squad together. She so clearly has such a good bond with the other players, but seems to shy away from the limelight. Her bond with the players and those around her never seems more obvious than it does today. So many people involved in the team, past and present, are congratulating her ahead of what will be another great achievement for her. Loren appears to be a reluctant hero in a way. Despite her achievements, her favorite moment as a Wales player is watching Jess Fishlock fall over after a particularly enraged half time team talk. Not the wins, goals, clean sheets or personal performances, but being able to laugh at her mate. I loved that. Her focus and passion seems to be on enjoying her football and being with this group. She is also so obviously proud to be Welsh. She still lives in Wales and travels back and forth to Bristol for training every day. She has been coaching for a while now too and is involved in the FAW Trust as she looks to give back to the pathway which gave her so much in her career. She’s currently the Wales Girls u15’s coach and has been responsible for some of the players which are coming through into the senior squad now too with that coaching role. 

One of the big things about this Wales squad has been the bond and togetherness they seem to have. They embody “together stronger” and fully value its message and impact. There is no one who personally embodies it more than Loren Dykes. The quiet hero, leader, and force within that dressing room. 

To circle back, and tie this up, I mentioned that side I coached at the start here, because I see those girls I coached, in her every single time I watch her play. Always seeming like she has something to prove to someone, and playing with commitment and drive. I love watching her play football for that reason. She is someone who simply loves the game, and that is no more obviously seen through the fact she is about to receive her 100th cap. I have no doubt this game will have the same passion that the first one had, and her performance will be as youthful and energetic as cap number one was, aged 19. She doesn’t need to prove anything to anyone anymore though, because she has become one of the role models that my team needed more of. She has proved what you can achieve if you work hard, show dedication and have the talent to back it up. 

Loren Dykes, alongside Jess Fishlock, Tash Harding and many others have become leaders and heroes. Whilst they show their dedication and talent in different ways, they have certainly become heroes of mine. They have given young girls extra belief that they can live their dreams, and for that they, and Loren today, deserve so much credit. Whilst hitting 100 caps in a great achievement, her biggest achievement in my mind is what she has brought to Women’s football in Wales. 

Loren, if you read this, from Sully Sports U17 girls 10 years ago, and from everyone you’ve inspired since, myself included, thank you. 

Leave a comment